Award Description

Established in 1946. Originally given (1946-54) for outstanding treatment plant annual reports. Since 1956, this award has been given for outstanding treatment plant operations.


Nomination Policy and Procedures

1.     The Hatfield Award Subcommittee, formed under the General Awards Committee, shall be responsible for nominating one wastewater treatment facility operator, supervisor, or manager from one of the member states of the Association for the William D. Hatfield Award. In general, each State Section Operations Committee will nominate one person from their respective State Section for the Hatfield Award, and the Hatfield Award Subcommittee will recommend a winner from the three nominees.  The nominee should not be the current nominee for the Operations Award.

2.     The Hatfield Award Subcommittee shall consist of the most recent Hatfield Award winner from each of State Section of the Association. The Chair shall be from the Host State.

3.     As a general guide in selecting the Hatfield Award winner, the Subcommittee shall consider the following basis of selection, which is recommended, but not required:

ItemsMaximum Allowable Points
Efficiency of treatment, considering available facilities and effluent requirements on the plant, along with effects of the effluent on the receiving waters
Housekeeping of facilities
Public relations
In-service training and upgrading of subordinate operators
Preventive maintenance emergency operation and safety practices
Compilation of, and dissemination of in-plant studies and routine operation data to regulatory agencies and to the profession
Preparation and dissemination of annual report
General administration

4.     In addition to the guidelines suggested above, the following five items must be elaborated on in detail for each Hatfield Award nomination submitted:

a.     Public relations involving the nominee.

b.     The businesslike accounting and budgeting conducted along with the maintenance of the wastewater treatment plant.

c.     The operating and annual reports that are submitted to the nominee’s superior officials, which may include the basis for plant improvements, efficiency of treatment, and economy of operation.

d.     The advancement of the art and knowledge of wastewater treatment by innovative in-plant studies and the dissemination of the results to others in the field.

e.     Dissemination of information concerning wastewater treatment operation and maintenance through papers, articles, meetings, training sessions and reports.

5.     Although the Hatfield Award is a WEF Award, it is presented (following approval by Association Executive Committee and the WEF House of Delegates, at the next Association Annual Meeting by a representative of WEF.

6.     It shall be the responsibility of the Hatfield Award Subcommittee to prepare the necessary documentation and a brief statement in support of the Hatfield Award nominee. The statement shall be submitted, no later than December 1, to the Chair of the General Awards Committee by the Subcommittee Chair. Following Executive Committee approval, the Executive Director shall forward the name of the recommended Hatfield nominee to WEF for final approval by the WEF House of Delegates.



Jeremy Cramer

City of Sun Prairie, Wisconsin



2022Mark Eddington
2021Andy Bradshaw
2020Stephen Brand
2019Mary-Frances Klimek
2018Thomas W. Sigmund
2017Larry Rogacki
2016Sue E. Baert
2015Eric R. Lecuyer
2014Dale Doerr
2013John Leonhard
2012Rick Pace
2011Mary Fralish
2010Dan Lynch
2009Dan Busch
2008Steve Reusser
2007Albert Parrella
2006Dennis Streicher
2005Terry Jackson
2004Paul Thormodsgard
2003Dennis Lindeke
2002Thomas Bunker
2001Mike Callahan
2000Robert Clavel
1999Eugene D. Lukasik
1998Bob Zimmerman
1997David Frey
1996Dean Faulkner
1995Phillip C. Morgan
1994Paul Nehm
1993Ronald W. Dickrell
1992James E. Miller
1991Joseph L. Gehin
1990James L. Daugherty
1989Roger W. Sherman
1988Charles R. DeWolf
1987Lawrence C. Cox
1986Carl Garrison
1985Frank D. Munsey
1984Larry Hughes
1983James L. Nemke
1982Roger C. Andrew
1981Albin D. Pagorski
1980Joseph D. Styx
1979Axel A. Jensen
1978John W. Wagner
1977Roger Haag
1976Albert J. Winter
1975Grant Haugstad
1974Gary K. Coates
1973Otto W. Kuehne
1972James Mayhugh
1971Merrill D. Baldwin
1970Maurice D. Robins
1969James D. Pastika
1968David W. Martin
1967Jack F. Giles
1966Paul Troemper
1965Clyde F. Lehman
1964Walter C. Hogensen
1963J. Edward Meers
1962Raymond D. Leary
1961Carl A. Lund
1960D. A. Whitlock
1959Frank I. Vilen
1958Kerwin L. Mick
1957Ronald A. Kronewitter
1956G. Knoebel
1955(No Nominee)
1954J. E. Meers
1953(No Nominee)
1952(No Nominee)
1951J. E. Meers
1950Walter A. Sperry
1949George W. Martin
1948Kerwin L. Mick,
F. E. Peterson
1947F. E. Peterson
Warren H. Sleeger
George J. Schroepfer
1946W. M. Kunsch

Mission Statement

To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.

Connect With Us