Award Description

Established in 2019, this award recognizes individuals or groups that look beyond the traditional water and wastewater operational models and incorporate or advance sustainable principles and cutting-edge practices, with a focus on resource recovery, efficiency, and sustainability.



Randy Wirtz
Strand Associates


Past Recipients

2021Corey Bjornberg - Rochester WRP
2020Tracy Hodel - City of St. Cloud
2019Daniel Zitomer - Marquette University

Mission Statement

To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.

Connect With Us