Award Description

Given in recognition of active and effective safety programs in municipal and industrial wastewater treatment facilities. Established in 1983.

Recognizes a wastewater treatment facility based on the documented and illustrated safety program and safety record of the facility for the preceding calendar year.


Nomination Policy and Procedures

1.     The Burke Award is made annually by WEF to a municipal or industrial wastewater facility for promoting an active and effective safety program.

2.     The State Section Safety Committees or General Awards Committee shall be responsible for soliciting and accepting nominations and selecting no more than one facility from each state as nominees for the George W. Burke Award.

3.     To be eligible for this award, at least one employee of the facility must have Association member status, unless otherwise specifically approved by the Executive Committee.

4.     Nomination documentation shall include a narrative of the facility safety program and a summary of safety data prepared in a format suggested by WEF. Submitted documentation shall be limited to six pages with two letters of recommendation for a total of no more than eight pages.

5.     Nominations shall be submitted to the Chair of the State Section Safety Committee by November 15 of each year.

6.     The State Section Safety Committees shall be responsible for accepting nominations and shall select no more than one facility from each State Section and submit these candidates to the General Awards Committee by December 1 of each year.

7.     Following approval by the Association Executive Committee, the Executive Director shall forward the recommendation to WEF for approval by the WEF House of Delegates.

8.     The award will be presented to the facility at the Association Annual Meeting following WEF House of Delegates approval.

For Information, Contact:

Amy Haque
Phone: 855-692-7932


Racine Wastewater Utility

Racine, WI

Past Recipients

2022City of Oconomowoc, Oconomowoc, WI
2021City of Oshkosh WWTF, Oshkosh, WI
2020Madison MSD, Madison, WI
2019City of St. Cloud, St. Cloud, MN
2018City of Janesville, Janesville, WI
2017New Water, Green Bay, WI
2016Glenbard Wastewater Authority
2015Western Lake Superior SD
2014Veolia Water Milwaukee
2013Not Awarded
2012Metropolitan Council Environmental Services-East Business Unit
2011Not Awarded
2010Glenbard Wastewater Authority
2009Western Lake Superior Sanitary District
2008City of Crystal Lake, IL WWT Division
2007North Shore Sanitary District
2006Not Awarded
2005City of Naperville, IL Springbrook WWT Facility Naperville, IL
2004Glenbard Wastewater Agency, IL
2003City of Elmhurst Elmhurst IL
2002Heart of the Valley Sanitary District Kaukauna WI
2001North Shore Sanitary District Gurnee IL
2000Beloit Wastewater Treatment Plant Beloit, WI
1999Gold’n Plump Poultry Cold Spring, MN
1997Rochester Water Reclamation Plant Rochester, MN
1996Fox River Water Pollution Control Center Brookfield, WI
1995Sheboygan Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant Sheboygan, WI
1994Janesville Water and Wastewater Utili Janesville, WI
1993Glenbard Wastewater Utility Glenbard, IL
1992Metropolitan Waste Central Commission, East Area Plants St. Paul, MN
1991Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District Madison, WI
1990Kankakee Metropolitan Wastewater Utility Kankakee, IL
1989Village of Addison Addison, IL
1988Urbana and Champaign Sanitary District Urbana, IL
1987North Shore Sanitary District Gurnee, IL
1986Green Bay Metropolitan Sewage District Green Bay, WI
1985Metropolitan Waste Control Commission St. Paul, MN
1984Not Awarded
1983Jones Island Wastewater Treatment Plant, WI
Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District, WI

Mission Statement

To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.

Connect With Us