Award Description

Established in 1948, the Bedell Award is given by WEF to a member of an Association in recognition of outstanding service in the sewerage and wastewater treatment works field, as related particularly to the problems and activities of the member Association.


Policy and Procedures

1.     The Bedell Award Subcommittee, formed under the General Awards Committee, shall be responsible for selecting a nominee for the Arthur Sidney Bedell Award. The subcommittee shall consist of the most recent Bedell Award winner from each State Section of the Association.  The Chair shall be the subcommittee member from the Host State.

2.     Bedell Award Criteria

a.     Because of its membership being over 1,000, the Association is privileged to nominate a candidate for the Award each year.

b.     In general, the nominee shall have provided extraordinary service to the Association. This does not mean that it is necessary for the nominee to have served as an elected officer of the Association.

c.     The nominee shall have participated actively in the affairs of the Association with resulting contributions being easily identified because of their outstanding nature. This participation may be in the form of leadership through membership and committee work, presentation of technical papers, and other activities which, in general, enhance the prestige and effectiveness of the Association.

d.     Through contributions to the Association and to the water pollution control field, the nominee must have demonstrated a high level of professionalism and moral character.

3.   It shall be the responsibility of the Subcommittee to prepare a brief statement indicating the contributions and qualifications of the nominee for the Award. This statement shall be submitted, no later than December 1 to the President and the Executive Director of the Association by the Subcommittee Chair in making the recommendations for the Award. Following approval by the President, the Executive Director shall also forward the name of the Association nominee for the Award to WEF for final approval by the Awards and Recognitions Committee and WEF House of Delegates.



David Arnott



2022Jane Carlson
2021Mark Eddington
2020Mohammed Haque
2019Mike Holland
2018Doug Henrichsen
2017Beth Vogt
2016Patti Craddock
2015Randall A. Wirtz
2014Tim Tack
2013Carol Strackbein
2012Ralph B. Schroedel, Jr.
2011Dennis Lindeke
2010Scott Trotter
2009Jim Roth P.E.
2008Daniel Lynch, P.E.
2007John Leonhard
2006Bob L. Clavel, P.E.
2005James J. Smith
2004Eric R. Lecuyer
2003David Lane
2002Allen L. Rae
2001W. C. Boyle
2000Ken Johnson
1999John Fisher
1998Tom Bunker
1997Chuck Hansen
1996Sam L. Claassen
1995James L. Nemke
1994Eugene D. Lukasik
1993Sara J. Ethier
1992Frank T. Lamm
1991Gerald L. Peters
1990B. Victor Pfeiffer
1989R. Dale Richards
1988Robert F. Roskopf
1987Robert F. Hoffman
1986Albin D. Pagorski
1985A. E. Zanoni
1984Gary K. Coates
1983Donald J. Thimsen
1982Lawrence H. Breimhurst
1981O. Fred Nelson
1980H. William Byers
1979Lawrence A. Ernest
1978Paul A. Kuhn
1977Russell H. Susag
1976Raymond D. Leary
1975M. D. R. Riddell
1974Willard N. Sexauer
1973Richard S. Engelbrecht
1972William N. Konrad
1971Scott E. Linsley
1970J. Edward Meers
1969Frank I. Vilen
1968A. W. Banister
1967A. Paul Troemper
1966Thomas T. Hay
1965Lyle H. Smith
1964L. S. Kraus
1963Carl A. Wahlstrom
1962Maurice L. Robins
1961E. J. Beatty
1960Robert W. Frazier
1959Kerwin L. Mick
1958C. C. Larson
1957O. J. Muegge
1956W. W. Mathews
1955George J. Schroepfer
1952Don E. Bloodgood
1949Walter Asa Sperry

Mission Statement

To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.

Connect With Us