CSWEA Gus H. Radebaugh Award

    Award Description

    The Gus H. Radebaugh Award is presented each year for the best paper presented at the Annual Meeting in that year by a Central States member.

    The award is named for Gus H. Radebaugh as a memorial to his fine, loyal service to Central States. Gus Radebaugh was manager of the Urbana-Champaign Sanitary District, Urbana Illinois. He was the first Secretary of Central States, 1927-30.


    Nomination Policy and Procedures

    1.     The Radebaugh Award Subcommittee, formed under the General Awards Committee, shall be responsible for selecting a nominee for the Radebaugh Award.

    2.     The Radebaugh Award may be made by the Association each year if in the opinion of the Radebaugh Award Subcommittee, any member of the Association had presented a paper worthy of the Award at the Association Annual Meeting.

    3.     Subcommittee Membership:

    a.     The Subcommittee shall consist of three members, including one member from each of the State Sections of the Association. The Chair shall be from the Host State.

    b.     Whether an award is recommended or not, the Radebaugh Award Subcommittee shall submit a report each year to the General Awards Committee.

    4.     Eligibility for Award:

    a.     The Radebaugh Award shall be made to the author(s) of a deserving paper presented at an Annual Meeting of the Association.

    b.     For papers presented at the Annual Meeting to be eligible for the Award, the author(s) must submit eight (8) copies of the paper (or one electronic copy in PDF format) to the Association Executive Director within 30 days of the close of the Annual Meeting.

    c.     In case of multiple authorship, the Award shall be shared equally by authors, who are members of the Association, i.e., each Association member author shall receive a plaque.

    5.     The Subcommittee will evaluate each paper based on the criteria given below, applying up to the allowable points indicated. The sum of the allowable points is the final rating of the paper (100 points is maximum in totaling the allowable points given).

    Maximum Allowable PointsMaximum Allowable Points
    Contribution to the science because of:
    New information obtained by the author's experimental or theoretical research.
    New or advanced theory of technique of design presented by the author.
    Improved methods of construction proposed by the author.
    Improved methods of operation proposed by the author.
    Improved equipment proposed by the author.
    Detailed information not previously available to the profession, on a construction project of considerable magnitude, a production process or method of operation.
    Detailed information presented on economic questions, which are of interest to the profession, such as cost of construction and operation, evaluation and rate setting.
    Originality of subjects.
    Amount of work expended to obtain data or information.
    English composition and clarity of the presentation.

    6.     It shall be the responsibility of the Radebaugh Award Subcommittee to prepare a brief statement indicating the merits of the paper selected for the Award. This statement shall be submitted, no later than December 1, to the Chair of the General Awards Committee by the Radebaugh Award Subcommittee Chair in making the recommendation for the Award.

    7.     The Award shall consist of a Plaque(s) to be presented at the next Association meeting.


    For Information, Contact:

    Beth Vogt, Chair
    Phone: 847-742-2068



    Aaron Dose, Rachel Lee, Matt Seib, Mikaela Verigin
    “Doubling Down on Phosphorus.”


    Past Recipients

    “A Study on the Effects of Side Streams on Phosphorous Removal”
    Robert S. Trotter and Elizabeth Heise
    "A Simple and Energy Efficient Approach to Cleaning Biogas"
    Sid Aurora, Lindsey Busch, Sean Snyder and Rudy Kilian
    “SNRP 101 – Fond du Lac WWTP Lab Experiences”
    Autumn Fisher, Jeremy Cramer, Eric Lynne
    Steven R. Reusser, Alan L. Grooms, Aaron P. Dose
    Jeremy Bril, Jane Carlson, John Leonhard
    Jared Greeno, Greg Paul, David Raskowic
    Chris Wilson and Jennifer Hindel
    Alan Grooms
    Navaneethan Navarathnam, Scott Royer, Peter R. Topczewski & Daniel Zitomer
    Steven R. Reusser
    Not Awarded
    Jay Kemp, Dennis Egge & Daniel Zitomer
    Tom Vik & Mark Surwillo
    Not Awarded
    Steve Reusser
    Stephen Greenwood, Claude Anderson, Mike Reith, Ted Stein
    Steven Reusser, Greg Zelinka
    2000D. Busch, M. Urbancic
    1999J. A. Bilgo, E. D. Fessler, K. E. Kaszubowski, R. F. Peschel
    1998J. J. Marx
    1997Kirankumar Topudurti
    1996David A. Rein
    1995James L. Daugherty, Thomas E. Vik, David T. Redmon
    1994No Nominee
    1993Eric R. Lecuyer
    1992James R. Kirk
    1991Paul MacBerthouex
    1990Steven R. Reusser
    1989Paul Mac Berthouex, D. Robert Gan
    1988J. Willard DeBauche
    1987Glen T. Daigger
    1986Brooks Newbry,Diane Taniguchi-Dennis, Tom Sigmund
    1985Sara J. Ethier, Conrad P. Straub
    1984Thomas E. Vik, Dennis J. Lammers, Daniel L. Roder
    1983George B. Vania, Dennis R. Martenson, Nadim A. Shamat
    1982John S. Hunter, III
    1981Richard R. Dahl, Sam L. Claassen
    1980Nancy H. Pelt-Lynche, Walter J. Maier
    1979William Denniston, Jr., Bruce Snyder, Gene Lukasik
    1978Jan Yesilani
    1977Phil Budde, Paul Nehm, William C. Boyle
    1976M.J. Semmens,J.T. Wang, A.C. Booth
    1975J.W. Lingel
    1974Parviz Amirhor
    1973Harold T. Stanlick
    1972A. E. Zanoni, R. J. Rutkowski
    1971A. W. Banister
    1970Robert C. Ansani, Timothy J. McAloon
    1969Walter J. Maier
    1968Lyle Smith, Lawrence Breimhurst
    1967Russell Susag
    1966Walter K. Johnson, George J. Schroepfer
    1965L. S. Kraus, Edwin B. Fall
    1964A. W. Banister
    1963Joseph T. Ling
    1962Robert T. Wolf
    1961James J. Anderson
    1960George J. Schroepfer, Norman R. Ziemke
    1959W. W. Mathews
    1958Frank J. McKee
    1957Henry B. King
    1956Charles Griffith
    1955Philip F. Morgan
    1954Henry B. King
    1953George J. Schroepfer
    1952Paul E. Langdon
    1951Norval E. Anderson
    1950Philip F. Morgan
    1949George J. Schroepfer
    1948Al F. Bartsch
    1947L. S. Kraus
    1946Donald Bloodgood
    1945No Meeting Due to War
    1944No Award Given
    1943Samuel A. Greeley
    1942K. L. Mick
    1941Walter A. Sperry
    1940C. C. Ruchhoft
    1939William A. Dumdas
    1938C. N. Sawyer, M. Starr Nichols
    1937W. D. Hatfield

    Mission Statement

    To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.