CSWEA Golden Manhole Society

    Award Description

    The Golden Manhole Society is a professional society formed through the efforts of the WEF’s Collection System Committee. The WEF Collection System Committee has encouraged each of its Member Associations (MA’s) create a society within its association that recognizes significant contributions by individuals to the field of wastewater collection systems. Election to the CSWEA Golden Manhole Society is made by members of the society. The individual receives a certificate and a Golden Manhole lapel pin.

    The Golden Manhole Award is presented at the Annual meeting to members from each State Section in recognition of their involvement in the operation management or design or operator education associated with Sanitary Sewer Systems.


    Policy and Procedures

    1.     The society shall designate a society member to solicit candidates for consideration during the Annual Meeting and to maintain society records.

    2.     The present members of the “Golden Manhole” Society shall meet during the Annual Meeting to elect members from each State Section, and nationally, whom they feel merit the recognition of this award.

    3.     Membership emblems for the Golden Manhole Society shall be provided.


    For Information, Contact:

    Michael G. Holland, P.E.
    DeKalb Sanitary District
    303 Hollister Ave, P.O. Box 624
    DeKalb, Illinois 60115
    Office: (815) 758-3513


    Past Winners

    2016Illinois: Aaron Berry
    Minnesota: Dianne Matthews
    Wisconsin: Jack Saltes & Allan Wheeler
    Honorary/Other: Lynn Broaddus (WEF) & Steve Dye (WEF)
    2015Illinois : John Manijak
    Minnesota : Wade Klingsporn
    Wisconsin : Tim Zimmerman
    Honorary/Other : Paul Bowen (WEF) & Linda Kelly (WEF)
    2014Illinois : Todd Sheridan and Bob Swirsky
    Minnesota : Dean Nelson - Frank Stuemke
    Wisconsin : Kevin Freber and Sam Warp
    Honorary/Other : Sandra Ralston (WEF)
    2013Illinois : Nick Menninga
    Minnesota : Joe Rubbelke & Kay Curtin
    Wisconsin : Mark Kolczaski
    Honorary/Other : John Hart
    2012Illinois : Zach Matyja
    Minnesota : Al Parrella & Del Haag
    Wisconsin : Randy Belanger
    Honorary/Other : Jeff Eger
    2011Illinois : Matt Streicher & Mike Holland
    Minnesota : Sandy Mass & Chris Kleist
    Wisconsin : Thomas Steinback
    Honorary/Other : Ed McCormick
    2010Illinois : Derek Wold
    Minnesota : Todd Carlson & Anthony Talamantez
    Wisconsin : Andy Craven & Dan Lynch
    Honorary/Other : Chris Browning
    2009Illinois : Mark Eddington
    Minnesota : Greg Guerrero & Bill Moeller
    Wisconsin : Ruth Delay & Todd Stelmacher
    Honorary/Other : Adam Zabinski
    2008Minnesota : Craig Anderson & Linda Mullen
    Wisconsin : Jim Beier & Ned Paschke
    Honorary/Other : Mickael J. Read
    2007Minnesota : Craig Anderson & Linda Mullen
    Wisconsin : Jim Beier & Ned Paschke
    Honorary/Other : Mickael J. Read
    2006Illinois : Bob Clavel & Dennis Streicher
    Minnesota : Stephen Lipinski
    Wisconsin : Mike Krosnosky & Mike Spence
    2005Wisconsin : Keith Alexander & Jim Fratrick
    Honorary/Other : Mohamed Dahab
    2004Illinois : Al Rae
    Minnesota : Howard Jacobson
    Wisconsin : Tom Bunker, Mike Pierner, Joan Hawley
    Honorary/Other : Lynn Orphan
    2003Illinois : Larry Cox, Tom Muth, Tom Hoeft, Ron Lyman, Steve Graceffa
    Minnesota : Denis McKenzie, Gene Erikson, Jim Miller, George Rosati, Denny Martin
    Wisconsin : Tom Krueger, Frank Tiefert, Tim Bate, John Leonhard, Jim Smith
    2002Illinois : Mohammed Haque
    Minnesota : Randy Poore
    Wisconsin : Nancy Schultz
    2001Wisconsin : Paul Lange


    Mission Statement

    To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.

    1021 Alexandra Blvd
    Crystal Lake, IL 60014


    (855) MYCSWEA (692-7932)

    Connect With Us