CSWEA Arthur Sidney Bedell Award

    Award Description

    Established in 1948, the Bedell Award is given by WEF to a member of an Association in recognition of outstanding service in the sewerage and wastewater treatment works field, as related particularly to the problems and activities of the member Association.


    Policy and Procedures

    1.     The Bedell Award Subcommittee, formed under the General Awards Committee, shall be responsible for selecting a nominee for the Arthur Sidney Bedell Award. The subcommittee shall consist of the most recent Bedell Award winner from each State Section of the Association.  The Chair shall be the subcommittee member from the Host State.

    2.     Bedell Award Criteria

    a.     Because of its membership being over 1,000, the Association is privileged to nominate a candidate for the Award each year.

    b.     In general, the nominee shall have provided extraordinary service to the Association. This does not mean that it is necessary for the nominee to have served as an elected officer of the Association.

    c.     The nominee shall have participated actively in the affairs of the Association with resulting contributions being easily identified because of their outstanding nature. This participation may be in the form of leadership through membership and committee work, presentation of technical papers, and other activities which, in general, enhance the prestige and effectiveness of the Association.

    d.     Through contributions to the Association and to the water pollution control field, the nominee must have demonstrated a high level of professionalism and moral character.

    3.   It shall be the responsibility of the Subcommittee to prepare a brief statement indicating the contributions and qualifications of the nominee for the Award. This statement shall be submitted, no later than December 1 to the President and the Executive Director of the Association by the Subcommittee Chair in making the recommendations for the Award. Following approval by the President, the Executive Director shall also forward the name of the Association nominee for the Award to WEF for final approval by the Awards and Recognitions Committee and WEF House of Delegates.


    For Information, Contact:

    Patti Craddock
    Phone: 651-490-2067


    2019 RECIPIENT

    Mike Holland



    2018Doug Henrichsen
    2017Beth Vogt
    2016Patti Craddock
    2015Randall A. Wirtz
    2014Tim Tack
    2013Carol Strackbein
    2012Ralph B. Schroedel, Jr.
    2011Dennis Lindeke
    2010Scott Trotter
    2009Jim Roth P.E.
    2008Daniel Lynch, P.E.
    2007John Leonhard
    2006Bob L. Clavel, P.E.
    2005James J. Smith
    2004Eric R. Lecuyer
    2003David Lane
    2002Allen L. Rae
    2001W. C. Boyle
    2000Ken Johnson
    1999John Fisher
    1998Tom Bunker
    1997Chuck Hansen
    1996Sam L. Claassen
    1995James L. Nemke
    1994Eugene D. Lukasik
    1993Sara J. Ethier
    1992Frank T. Lamm
    1991Gerald L. Peters
    1990B. Victor Pfeiffer
    1989R. Dale Richards
    1988Robert F. Roskopf
    1987Robert F. Hoffman
    1986Albin D. Pagorski
    1985A. E. Zanoni
    1984Gary K. Coates
    1983Donald J. Thimsen
    1982Lawrence H. Breimhurst
    1981O. Fred Nelson
    1980H. William Byers
    1979Lawrence A. Ernest
    1978Paul A. Kuhn
    1977Russell H. Susag
    1976Raymond D. Leary
    1975M. D. R. Riddell
    1974Willard N. Sexauer
    1973Richard S. Engelbrecht
    1972William N. Konrad
    1971Scott E. Linsley
    1970J. Edward Meers
    1969Frank I. Vilen
    1968A. W. Banister
    1967A. Paul Troemper
    1966Thomas T. Hay
    1965Lyle H. Smith
    1964L. S. Kraus
    1963Carl A. Wahlstrom
    1962Maurice L. Robins
    1961E. J. Beatty
    1960Robert W. Frazier
    1959Kerwin L. Mick
    1958C. C. Larson
    1957O. J. Muegge
    1956W. W. Mathews
    1955George J. Schroepfer
    1952Don E. Bloodgood
    1949Walter Asa Sperry

    Mission Statement

    To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.