CSWEA Academic Excellence Award

    Award Description

    CSWEA presents an Academic Excellence Award to a student from each university with a recognized Graduate Program in Environmental Engineering in the state which is to host the annual meeting. Nominations are made by the faculty of the engineering department. The recipient award winner will receive a cash award, a paid one-year student membership in the Central States Water Environment Association and a Letter of Commendation from the Association president. The award recipient will be invited to the annual conference and the registration fee, including the Association luncheon and banquet, will be paid by the Association. The award will be presented at the annual banquet.


    Policy and Procedures

    1.     Under the conditions defined herein, an award to be known as the Central States Water Environment Association, Inc., Academic Excellence Award may be presented to a maximum of one student per year per eligible institution located within the State Section hosting the Annual Conference.

    2.     An eligible institution shall be a college or university in the Annual Meeting Host State having a recognized graduate or undergraduate program in engineering or biological sciences.

    3.     The Academic Excellence Subcommittee shall be chaired by the 2nd Vice President. The host State Section Trustee, Student Design Competition Chair and the YP Representative shall also serve on the committee to help identify eligible institutions.  Additional committee members may be appointed at the option of the President.

    4.     The candidates shall be selected by the Department Chairman, or other designated person, at the eligible institutions. The 2nd Vice President will contact the Host State Trustee for a list of each of the eligible institutions.  Each institution will be provided with a description of the Academic Excellence Award and the necessary application forms. The names of the candidates must be submitted by the institution to the 2nd Vice President by December 1.

    5.     Eligible students must be enrolled in a full-time study program in engineering at the undergraduate level or graduate in an eligible institution.

    6.    The Academic Excellence Award shall consist of a $300 cash award, a paid one-year student membership in the Association and WEF, and a letter of commendation from the Association President. Award recipients will be invited to the Annual Conference and the registration fee, including the Association Luncheon and Banquet, will be paid by the Association. If the award recipient attends the Annual Awards Banquet, they shall receive one complimentary night’s lodging and $50.00 for expenses. The Association President will present the Award(s) to the recipient(s) at the Annual Banquet.


    Anndee Huff
    University of Minnesota

    Past WINNERS

    2019Eileen Kennedy - Marquette University
    Alexander Weislak - Milwaukee School of Engineering
    Neil Funseth - University of Wisconsin – Madison
    Qionqion Dong - University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
    McKenna Farmer - University of Wisconsin – Platteville
    Daniel Rider - University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
    2018Marissa Campobasso, Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
    Jennifer DeBellis, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign
    Brendan Ahern, Bradley University
    Paul Roots, Northwestern University
    Xialong Wang, Illinois Institute of Technology
    2017 Zeinab Takbiri, Univ of Minnesota – Twin Cities
    Henry Croll, Univ of Minnesota – Twin Cities
    Megan Cox, St. Cloud State Univ
    Allison Herzog, Minnesota State Univ – Mankato
    2016 Finn Finucane, Milwaukee School of Engineering
    Vadym Ianaiev, Univ of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
    Stephen Matthias, Univ of Wisconsin – Madison
    Xiaopeng Min, Univ of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
    Matthew Nichols, Univ of Wisconsin – Green Bay
    Eric Osterdyk, Univ of Wisconsin – Platteville
    Kaushik Venkiteshwaran, Marquette University
    2015 Gurmanpreet Bhupal, Illinois Institute of Technology
    Diana Byrne, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
    Han Gao, Northwestern University
    Laura Haak, Illinois Institute of Technology
    Lance Langer, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
    Zeying Zhu, Southern Illinois University – Carbondale
    2014 Anthony Adderley, Minnesota State University-Mankato
    David T. Tan, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
    2013 Adam R. Groshek, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
    Amanda Heller, Milwaukee School of Engineering
    Sally Shumaker, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Allen Williams, Marquette University
    Li Xiao, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    2012 Marina Arnaldos Orts, Illinois Institute of Technology
    Michael Giannetto, Northwestern University
    Taylor Swanson, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
    Anthony Straub, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    2011 Evan Hunter, University of MN, Duluth
    Greg LeFevre, University of MN, Twin Cities
    Carl J. Sorensen, MN State University, Mankato
    2010 No Award Given
    2009 Petia Tontcheva, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
    Kathryn Weissman, Illinois Institute of Technology
    2008 Alison Ling, University of MN, Twin Cities
    Carla Petrich, University of MN, Duluth
    Michael Petersen, MN State University, Mankato
    2007 Ryan Holzem UW Platteville
    Stacy Erin Metz, UW Madison
    Mark Hope, Marquette University
    Yang Liu, UW Milwaukee
    2006 Carlos Lopez, U of I
    Adhiraj Joshi

    Mission Statement

    To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.