CSWEA Academic Excellence Award

Award Description

CSWEA presents an Academic Excellence Award to a student from each university with a recognized Graduate Program in Environmental Engineering in the state which is to host the annual meeting. Nominations are made by the faculty of the engineering department. The recipient award winner will receive a cash award, a paid one-year student membership in the Central States Water Environment Association and a Letter of Commendation from the Association president. The award recipient will be invited to the annual conference and the registration fee, including the Association luncheon and banquet, will be paid by the Association. The award will be presented at the annual banquet.


For Information, Contact:

Past Winners


2017 – Zeinab Takbiri, Univ of Minnesota – Twin Cities
Henry Croll, Univ of Minnesota – Twin Cities
Megan Cox, St. Cloud State Univ
Allison Herzog, Minnesota State Univ – Mankato
2016 – Finn Finucane, Milwaukee School of Engineering
Vadym Ianaiev, Univ of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
Stephen Matthias, Univ of Wisconsin – Madison
Xiaopeng Min, Univ of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
Matthew Nichols, Univ of Wisconsin – Green Bay
Eric Osterdyk, Univ of Wisconsin – Platteville
Kaushik Venkiteshwaran, Marquette University
2015 Gurmanpreet Bhupal, Illinois Institute of Technology
Diana Byrne, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
Han Gao, Northwestern University
Laura Haak, Illinois Institute of Technology
Lance Langer, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
Zeying Zhu, Southern Illinois University – Carbondale
2014 Anthony Adderley, Minnesota State University-Mankato
David T. Tan, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
2013 Adam R. Groshek, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Amanda Heller, Milwaukee School of Engineering
Sally Shumaker, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Allen Williams, Marquette University
Li Xiao, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2012 – Marina Arnaldos Orts, Illinois Institute of Technology
Michael Giannetto, Northwestern University
Taylor Swanson, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Anthony Straub, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2011 Evan Hunter, University of MN, Duluth
Greg LeFevre, University of MN, Twin Cities
Carl J. Sorensen, MN State University, Mankato
2010 – No Award Given.
2009 – Petia Tontcheva, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Kathryn Weissman, Illinois Institute of Technology
2008 – Alison Ling, University of MN, Twin Cities
Carla Petrich, University of MN, Duluth
Michael Petersen, MN State University, Mankato
2007 – Ryan Holzem UW Platteville
Stacy Erin Metz, UW Madison
Mark Hope, Marquette University
Yang Liu, UW Milwaukee
2006 – Carlos Lopez, U of I
Adhiraj Joshi

Mission Statement

To provide a Water Environment Federation (WEF) organization (Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin) offering multiple opportunities for the exchange of water quality knowledge and experiences among its members and the public and to foster a greater awareness of water quality achievements and challenges.

1021 Alexandra Blvd
Crystal Lake, IL 60014


(855) MYCSWEA (692-7932)

Connect With Us